Our Constitution

Heritage Trail

St. Mary's Parish, Cappoquin

Tidy Towns Committee

Submission to County Plan

Submission to CCDC's 2015 Plan



Twinning with Chanat La Mouteyre


Cappoquin Tidy Towns Notes




The members of the newly formed Cappoquin Tidy Towns team worked on their inaugural clean-up on Saturday 17th February. There was a great turnout on a fabulous, sunny morning and it was refreshing to see so many locals ready, willing and able to contribute.

Present were Rev Fr. R. Arthure, Rev. Fr. Pat Gear PP, J.J. Landers, Ger Mason, Ml. Fraher, Ml. McGrath, Mce kellehher, Val Delaney, Grace & Carmel Kelleher, Mary Burke, Noreen Landers, Sheila Murphy, Peg Murray, Ina Hayes, Jennifer Hickey, Mary McGrath and Betty Kelleher.
Apologies were received from other CTT members: Mary Coughlan, Virginia Dransfield, Lena O’Brien, Anna Crotty, Breeda Doherty, Lucy Fraher, Tracey Fraher, Carol Coleman, Jim Murray, Paddy Mason and Sonny Landers.

The picture of the bags of rubbish we collected truly “speaks a thousand words”
Apart from those fourteen bags of litter our objective was to make a statement that Cappoquin Tidy Towns Group is up and running, determined to make a difference to our local environment. The group has a new Committee but is not starting from scratch as so much hard work has been done over many years by the Group led by the former Committee and for that Cappoquin owes them a great deal.

We are asking any other people interested in improving our local environment to assist us in any future clean-up. Anyone whose heart is in Cappoquin: gardeners, painters (house or otherwise), professional tradesmen or general DIY experts will be more than welcome to give help.

We have several projects in mind but our main aim is to give the streetscape of the town a significant lift by the improvement of street lighting, footpaths, street furniture, providing more litter bins, repainting derelict buildings and encouraging businesses and householders to do the same wherever practical.
We hope to work closely with our friends in Waterford County Council, Cappoquin Heritage Group, Cappoquin Civic Link, and John McGrath C.E Officer with Cappoquin Community Centre. All have done trojan work over the years to show the positive side of Cappoquin; together, our motto should be “Is féidir linn”










Web page host: